Benfica have been crowned champions of Portuguese Primera Liga after beating Nacional 4-1 at the Estadio da Luz on the final day of the campaign to lift their third successive domestic title.

Benfica headed into the final day two points clear of second-placed Sporting Lisbon, but needed a win to guarantee the title due to an inferior head-to-head record against their rivals.

Nicolas Gaitan settled the home side’s early nerves with a 23rd-minute opener, before Jonas’ 39th-minute strike and a second from Gaitan midway through the second half prompted early title celebrations the hosts.

Pizzi added a late fourth for the home side, sealing their third consecutive title for the first time since 1977.

Nacional pulled a goal back through Salvador Agra but it was too little, too late as Benfica had already got their party started.

It was Benfica’s 35th league title ever.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.