Ivorian veteran midfielder Yaya Toure has won the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year for award.

Toure successfully beat off competition from Andre Ayew (Ghana and Swansea), Sadio Mane (Senegal and Southampton), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund) and Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto).

The 32-year-old Manchester City ever-present playmaker becomes only the player, after Nigerian duo Nwankwo Kanu and Jay-Jay Okocha, to receive the honour twice.

Toure told BBC Sport: “I am very proud. To receive this dedication from the fans is unbelievable.

“Also I want to pay tribute to the other nominees. African football is growing up, becoming much better and we have fantastic young players coming through now.

“I am delighted and very happy. And as an African player, I want to lead all my younger brothers to be successful in the future.

“When I was a kid I was always dreaming of being an important player. I have sacrificed a lot.

“I will continue to try to win a trophy every year, I will fight to win a personal trophy.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.