FIFA have announced on Tuesday morning the 10-man shortlist for the FIFA World Coach of the Year Award.

The stand out candidates must be World Cup winner Joachim Loew and surprise La Lige title winner Diego Simeone.

From America, there has been surprise that Jurgen Klinsmann was nominated, with almost every other coach bagging silverware in 2014 to justify their inclusion.

Carlo Ancelotti could also make the final shortlist of three having guided Real Madrid to Champions League victory number ten.

The two surprise inclusion are Louis Van Gaal and Jose Mourinho, with both not winning a major trophy except, Van Gaal guiding Netherlands to winning bronze.

Eight of FIFA’s shortlist of 10 coaches were either top three at the World Cup or won major club league or Champions League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.