The Football Association has charged Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho with improper conduct for his attitude in the win against Cardiff on Saturday.

Mourinho was sent off to the stands by referee Anthony Taylor after protesting about time-wasting, and sat with supporters.

Mourinho said: “I don’t know why the referee stopped me doing my work.”

The 50-year-old Portuguese coach has until 18:00 BST on 24 October to respond to the charge.

The former Madrid boss spent the last 20 minutes sitting among supporters behind the Chelsea dugout after his dismissal.

“To be with the fans was not funny,” Mourinho said in Dusseldorf airport ahead of Tuesday’s Champions League group match with Schalke.

“It is frustrating. You want to communicate with the players and you couldn’t do it.”

Mourinho’s dismissal was not the only moment of controversy in the match, after Eden Hazard scored Chelsea’s equaliser in the eventual 4-1 victory
when Samuel Eto’o kicked the ball away as Bluebirds goalkeeper David Marshall bounced it.

According to Fifa rules, the Cameroonian’s actions should have been given as a foul, but referee Taylor
incorrectly allowed play to continue.

When asked about the incident, Mourinho, who refused to carry out media duties at the weekend, preferred to concentrate on apparent time-wasting from Malky Mackay’s side.

He said in Germany: “If I was in that game and I was paying my ticket, I would be worried with the fact that every time the ball was out or stopped and our opponent had to put the ball back in the game,

it took a median (average) of 21.5 seconds. That is a waste of money.
“When you multiply that by the number of times the game was stopped, you pay for 90 minutes but you see 55 or 60. For me, that’s breaking the rules.”

Mourinho insisted Eto’o’s interception was an “intelligent action”, and disagreed with Fifa’s law 12, governing the incident.

“If, in this moment, Fifa says that it’s a foul, it’s a foul,” he continued.

“But I think Samuel did well. Maybe the referee did wrong, I don’t know to be fair. But in my opinion, that should be allowed as it was for years. No contact with the goalkeeper.

“The goalkeeper has six seconds to have the ball. They had almost half a minute. That’s breaking the rules.”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.